Kampala

I HAVE INTERNET!

BUT IT’S NOT FAST ENOUGH FOR ME TO UPLOAD ALL THESE BLOG POSTS!

SO I’M JUST GOING TO CONTINUE TYPING LIKE SOMEONE IS ACTUALLY READING THIS!

Okay I’ll stop.

Today was a very exciting day because my fellow PCTs (Peace Corps Trainees) and I got to visit the US Embassy and the Peace Corps Headquarters in Kampala, the capital city of Uganda. Both the embassy and the PC headquarters are located in more affluent parts of the city so we got to see some pretty houses and structures. Since this part of the country is more hilly and valley-like, we were able to catch some breathtaking views of the city from the top. The PC headquarters is incredible. I can’t even describe it but if I could live there, I would. The staff was very welcoming and they greeted us so warmly. It’s nice to feel loved when you’re surrounded by strangers, although stranger is the last word I would use to describe my other PCTs.

On our ride home, we did cheesy things like sing songs and make music. This helped to take my mind off the fact that the roads in Uganda are incredibly dangerous and I could basically die at any moment (JKJK). There are no traffic lights or signs and the roads don’t even have names! Everyone just somehow knows where each road leads. This makes no sense to me.*

Despite the deadly transportation issues, Uganda is a beautiful country landscape-wise because it is so diverse. The east side of the country is known for its lakes and rivers while the north is the typical “African” landscape that people envision with dusty roads and flat terrain but lots of wildlife. The west is the opposite and is much cooler with lots of mountains. I’m really curious to find out where I will end up.

On a non-PC related note, I got to talk to two of my sisters this week and it feels great! I can’t say that I miss America yet (especially since the word “snow” was mentioned in the conversations.**) but it does feel weird not being able to talk to my friends and family whenever I want to vent about my day or to talk about something funny that happened. There are many times during the day (usually during a boring session) when I wonder what someone is up to in the states and then proceed to figure out the time difference and guess what they’re doing at that exact time. I also have to constantly remind myself that it’s only been a week and a half and it’s because of circumstance that my life has changed so dramatically.

Interesting Fact: Uganda is the size of Oregon but has a population of 39 million people.

* Side note: while we were driving back from Uganda, there was a billboard on the side of the road with an ad for a type of scotch called Crazy Cock. It had a picture of a rooster drinking scotch with the tag line “It’s SERIOUSLY CRAZY!” I am so disappointed that I didn’t have my phone on me to take a picture of it. I am a bad blogger.

**It’s around 80 and sunny every day here in Kulika, Uganda!

Leave a Reply

